Goal 10: Reduce inequality within and among countries

The UAE is taking several path-breaking efforts to reduce inequalities in the society specially within the UAE.

 

Tolerance

In February 2016, H. H. Sheikh Mohammed introduced the post of Minister of State for Tolerance in the UAE Cabinet to promote tolerance and instill its core principles as a fundamental value of the UAE society.

Since then, Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Global Initiatives and its affiliated bodies invested 400million AED in cultural understanding initiatives, which have benefited more than 200 nationalities.

 

According to the UAEInteract website, some 20,000 Imams have been trained to promote the principles of Islam based on moderation and tolerance.

 

Gender

In the UAE, women citizens enjoy the same constitutional rights as men. As per The Global Gender Gap Report 2015, the UAE is third in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region for gender balance. It scores above the regional average across all sub-indexes except ‘Health and Survival’, with 96 per cent of the gender gap closed. It ranks first in the region on literacy rate and third on wage equality for similar work.

 

After the 2015 elections of Federal National Council, 20 new members were appointed out of which 8 were women. That year, the FNC got its first woman speaker, Dr. Amal Abdullah Al Qubaisi. This was the first time for a woman to hold this position not only in the UAE but also in the GCC. In fact, Dr. Al Qubaisi was the first woman to be elected to the FNC.

 

The current UAE Cabinet comprises 29 ministers of which 8 are women.

 

The UAE established the Gender Balance Council to enhance work environment by giving women equal opportunities in the public sector. Towards that end, the UAE launched the Gender Inequality Index for Government sector.

 

The council would enact a framework to consolidate the efforts of various government entities. It aims to boost the country’s efforts to evolve and enhance women’s role as key partners in building the future of the nation.

 

Knowledge

As part of the national mGovernment initiative, the UAE launched the ‘ mGovernment TV programme’. The programme highlighted the progress of the initiative in terms of mTransformation and provided information about the new ways of accessing government services while stressing on the ease and convenience of adopting the innovative technology. The programme successfully utilised traditional media to bridge the knowledge divide and to facilitate the flow of content.

 

In spreading knowledge in other countries, Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Global Initiatives and its affiliated bodies seek to support education, disseminate knowledge, encourage the research and spread of knowledge, and provide children with healthy learning environment free of disease and its causes. The initiatives in this sector have been responsible for the construction 2,126 schools around the world, training 400,000 teachers, distributing and printing more than 3.2 million books, translating 1,000 knowledge-based books, encouraging millions of students in the Arab world to read 50 million books a year and sustaining Arabic language support initiatives.

 

Society

Providing cohesive society and preserved identity is one of the six pillars of the UAE National Agenda. The UAE aims to promote an inclusive environment that integrates all segments of society while preserving the UAE’s unique culture, heritage and traditions and reinforces social and family cohesion.

Read about the legal provisions to safeguard labour rights, human rights, women’s rights, children’s rights and consumer rights in the UAE in the ‘justice and safety’ section.

 

Read more under ‘No Poverty’ and social affairs.

 

Read more about the sustainable development goal ‘Reduced inequalities’.

Achievement Progress

10.6.1

Proportion of developing countries in the membership of the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development

الهدف 10: الغرض من هذا الهدف هو الحد من انعدام المساواة داخل البلدان وفيما بينها.

بذلت دولة الإمارات جهودا كبيرة وكثيرة للحد من حالات عدم المساواة في المجتمع، وخاصة داخل دولة الإمارات.

 

التسامح

في فبراير 2016، أدخل صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد، منصب وزير الدولة للتسامح في مجلس الوزراء، لتعزيز ثقافة التسامح، وغرس مبادئ التسامح، لتمثل قيمة جوهرية في المجتمع الإماراتي.

 

ومنذ ذلك الحين، استثمرت مؤسسة مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم والمؤسسات التابعة لها، حوالي 400 مليون درهم في مبادرات التفاهم الثقافي، التي استفادت منها أكثر من 200 جنسية.

 

 

 

ووفقا لموقع دولة الإمارات، تم تدريب حوالي 20,000 إمام لتعزيز مبادئ الإسلام التي تقوم على الوسطية والتسامح.

 

المساواة بين الجنسين

تتمتع النساء في دولة الإمارات بنفس الحقوق الدستورية للرجال. ووفقا للتقرير العالمي للفجوة بين الجنسين، جاءت الإمارات في المرتبة الثالثة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، من ناحية التوازن بين الجنسين. وقد حققت مستويات تفوق المتوسط الإقليمي في جميع المؤشرات الفرعية. وقد جاءت في المرتبة الأولى بالمنطقة من ناحية معدل التعليم والثالثة من ناحية المساواة في الأجور بالأعمال المشابهة.

 

بعد انتخابات عام 2015 للمجلس الوطني الاتحادي، عُين 20 عضو جديد، 8 منهم من النساء. وفي تلك السنة، أصبح للمجلس أول متحدثة له من النساء، وهي دكتورة أمل عبد الله القبيسي. وهذه هي أول مرة تشغل امرأة هذا المنصب، ليس فقط في الإمارات ولكن في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي أيضا. والدكتورة أمل القبيسي، هي أول امرأة يتم اختيارها للمجلس.

 

ويتكون مجلس الوزراء الحالي للدولة من 29 وزير، من بينهم 8 نساء.

 

أسست الدولة مجلس الإمارات للتوازن بين الجنسين، لتحسين بيئة العمل، من خلال إعطاء المرأة فرص مساوية بالقطاع العام. ولتحقيق هذه الغاية، أطلقت دولة الإمارات مؤشر عدم المساواة بين الجنسين للقطاع الحكومي.

 

وقد وضع المجلس إطاراً لتعزيز جهود المؤسسات الحكومة المختلفة. والهدف من ذلك هو دعم جهود الدولة في تعزيز وترسيخ دول المرأة، كشريك رئيسي في بناء مستقبل الدولة.

 

المعرفة

كجزء من المبادرة الوطنية للحكومة الذكية، أطلقت دولة الإمارات البرنامج التلفزيوني "حكومة ذكية". ويبرز البرنامج مدى ما حققته المبادرة فيما يخص التحول الذكي، والمعلومات المتوفرة عن الطرق الجديدة للحصول على الخدمات الحكومية، مع التأكيد على سهولة وملائمة التقنيات الإبداعية. يستخدم البرنامج الوسائل التقليدية لجمع المعارف والمعلومات لتسهيل تدفق المحتوى المعلوماتي.

 

 

 

في عالم انتشار المعرفة بالدول الأخرى، تسعى مؤسسة مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم العالمية، والكيانات التابعة لها، إلى دعم التعليم ونشر المعرفة وتشجيع البحث، وتزويد الأطفال ببيئة تعليم صحية خالية من الأمراض ومسبباتها. ولذلك تعهدت المؤسسة بإنشاء 2,126 مدرسة حول العالم، وتدريب 400,0000 مدرس، وتوزيع وطباعة أكثر من 3.2 مليون كتاب، وترجمة 1,000 كتاب يقوم على المعرفة، وتشجيع ملايين الطلاب في العالم العربي على قراءة 50 مليون كتاب في السنة ومساندة مبادرات دعم اللغة العربية.

 

المجتمع

تعتبر مبادرة مجتمع متلاحم محافظ على هويته أحد المحاور الست الرئيسية للأجندة الوطنية لدولة الإمارات. وتهدف دولة الإمارات إلى تعزيز بيئة شاملة، تعمل على تكامل جميع شرائح المجتمع، مع الحفاظ على الثقافة والتراث والعادات الفريدة لدولة الإمارات، وتعزيز تلاحم المجتمع وتماسك الاسرة.

 

اقرأ المزيد عن الأحكام القانونية لحماية حقوق العمال، وحقوق الإنسان، وحقوق المرأة، وحقوق الأطفال، وحقوق المستهلك بدولة الإمارات في قسم "العدل والسلامة".

 

اقرأ المزيد في قسم "مكافحة الفقر والشؤون الاجتماعية".

 

طالع المزيد عن الصناعة والابتكار والبنية التحتية كإحدى أهداف التنمية المستدامة.

تحقيق التقدم

10.6.1

نسبة الدول الأعضاء من البلدان النامية في صندوق النقد الدولي