Goal 6: Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all

Overview

In 2016, the World Economic Forum (WEF) listed ‘Water Crises’ as one of top 10 global risks to impact the world. Water security concerns are particularly acute in the UAE as the country is located in one of the most water scarce regions of the world. In line with the UAE Vision 2021 and SDG 6, the Ministry of Energy and Industry (MOEI) developed the UAE Water Security Strategy 2036 with the overarching objective of setting a roadmap to achieve water security. The strategy was developed in collaboration with more than 30 entities in the water sector and built on a large repertoire of previous studies and references. The aim of the strategy is to enhance water security planning and risk management, through tools such as the national water risk register, an integrated hydraulic water network model and an emergency impact simulator.

 

 

Policies and Initiatives

  • The UAE energy and water demand-side management program 2050, launched in 2018, will set the action plan required to reach national targets for energy and water demand reduction and efficiency improvements
  • The Water Security Strategy 2036, launched in 2018, is considered the first unified water security strategy in the country.

 

Challenges

  • The UAE faces water related challenges such as the scarcity of fresh natural water resources, the depletion of groundwater, the high demand for water, the high water losses from water distribution networks and the low irrigation efficiency, and limited utilization of available treated wastewater
  • The water system lacks the resilience to deal with emergencies. In addition, desalination plants result in a high carbon footprint
  • Data collection and reporting are a challenge, as a result MOEI has launched the data management and automation platform ATMATA, which uses digital platforms for water data collection and management.

Achievement Progress

الهدف 6: يعني هذا الهدف ضمان توافر المياه، وخدمات الصرف الصحي للجميع، وإداراتها إدارة مستدامة.

لمحة عامة

في عـام 2016، أدرج المنتـدى الاقتصـادي العالمي "الأزمـات المائيـة" كواحـدة مـن أ كبـر 10 مخاطـر عالميـة التـي تؤثـر علـى العالـم. وتـزداد مخـاوف الأمـن المـائي إلى حـد كبيـر علـى وجـه التحديد بدولـة الإمارات العربيـة المتحـدة، بالنظـر إلى أ َّن الدولـة واحـدة مـن أكثر المناطق ندرة في الميـاه في العالـم. واتســاقاً مــع الهــدف الســادس مــن أهــداف التنميــة المســتدامة، أطلقــت وزارة الطاقــة والصناعــة اســتراتيجية الأمــن المــائي لدولــة الإمارات 2036 والتي تهدف بشكل رئيسي إلى وضع خارطة طريق لتحقيــق الأمــن المــائي. ولقــد تــَّم إعــداد الاســتراتيجية بالتعــاون مــع أ كثــر مــن 30 جهــة تعمــل في قطــاع الميــاه، واســتندت في معطياتهــا إلى مجموعــة كبيــرة مــن الدراســات والمراجــع الســابقة. وتهــدف الاســتراتيجية إلى تعزيــز مســتويات التخطيــط للأمــن المــائي وإدارة المخاطــر باســتخدام أدوات مثــل الســجل الوطنــي لمخاطــر الميــاه، ونمــوذج هيدروليكــي متكامــل للشــبكة المائيــة، ونمــوذج محــاكاة حــالات الطــوارئ المائيــة.

السياسات والمبادرات

  • سيتولى برنامج إدارة الطلب على الطاقة والمياه بدولة الإمارات العربيـة المتحـدة (2018) 2050 إعـداد خطـة العمـل المطلوبـة لتحقيـق الأهـداف الوطنيـة المتعلقـة بخفـض مسـتويات الطلـب علـى الطاقـة والميـاه والتحسـينات بكفـاءة اسـتخدامهما.
  • تعتبــر اســتراتيجية الأمــن المــائي لدولــة الإمــارات 2036، والتــي أطلقــت في عــام 2018، أول اســتراتيجية موحــدة للأمــن المــائي علــى مســتوى الدولــة.

    التحديات

  • تشــمل التحديــات المتعلقــة بالميــاه في دولــة الإمــارات العربيــة المتحـدة مـا يلـي: نـدرة مـوارد الميـاه الطبيعية العذبة، واسـتنزاف الميــاه الجوفيــة، وارتفــاع الطلــب علــى الميــاه، وارتفــاع معــدلات الفاقـد مـن الميـاه (الميـاه التـي لا ُتـ ّدر عائـداً) مـن شـبكات توزيـع الميـاه وانخفـاض كفـاءة الـري ومحدوديـة الاسـتفادة مـن الميـاه عادمـة المعالجـة.
  • يفتقـد نظـام الميـاه إلى المرونـة في التعامـل مـع حـالات الطـوارئ القصـوى، (بالإضافـة إلى ذلـك، تـؤدي محطـات تحليـة الميـاه إلى ارتفــاع في مســتويات البصمــة الكربونيــة(
  • تعـُّد عمليـة جمـع البيانـات وإعـداد التقاريـر واحـدة من التحديات. ونتيجــة لذلــك، أطلقــت وزارة الطاقــة والصناعــة منصــة إدارة البيانــات والتشــغيل الآلي، والتــي ُتســتخدم كمنصــات رقميــة لجمــع بيانــات الميــاه وإدارتهــا.

 

تحقيق التقدم