Goal 8: Promote inclusive and sustainable economic growth, employment and decent work for all

Overview

In line with SDG 8, one of the six national priorities of the UAE’s National Agenda 2021 is transitioning to a ‘knowledge based economy’ In practice¨ this signifies promoting innovation and research, supporting high value-adding sectors and strengthening the regulatory framework for key sectors. The Ministry of Human Resources & Emiratization (MOHRE) is responsible of transforming the job market in the UAE into an attractive market for Emirati talent. To do that, MOHRE has focused on developing a system of policies, standards but also institutional partnerships to empower the Emirati labour force, protect the work environment whilst reinforcing innovation.

 

Policies and Initiatives

  • Citizen Redistribution Policy (2018) is a job rotation mechanism between the public and private sector that aims to provide experienced and competent staff from the public sector to take on leading positions in the private sector
  • The Unified Portal for Self-employment of Skilled Personnel (2018) aims to connect talented national skills with different programs and services in the private and public sector. The portal is also a platform for companies to use in order to hire national talent
  • Launch of a series of smart apps in 2017 and 2018 to encourage efficiency and promote ease in service provision. This includes, but is not limited to, ‘Wajehni’, an app aimed at providing professional guidance to the UAE’s fresh graduates to identify work and internship opportunities; the ‘Salamah’ app targeted at employers, workers and doctors and aims to be a platform to instantly report any work-related injuries.

 

Challenges

  • Raising the level of Emiratisation in the private sector especially that of females as the majority of UAE nationals prefer working in the public sector
  • Potential loss of a number of jobs due to the risk that automation poses on administrative jobs hence the importance of equipping UAE nationals with the right skills to succeed in the private sector.

Achievement Progress

8.2.1

Growth rate of real GDP per employed person (2015)

8.2.2

E97

الهدف 8: يعني هذا الهدف تعزيز النمو الاقتصادي المطرد والشامل والمُستدام للجميع، والعمالة الكاملة والمنتجة، وتوفير العمل اللائق للجميع.

لمحة عامة

بالتوافــق مــع الهــدف الثامــن مــن أهداف التنميــة المســتدامة، تــَّم إدارج أولويــة تحــّول الدولــة إلى “الاقتصــاد المعــرفي  ”ليكــون أحــد الأولويــات الوطنيــة الِّســت ضمــن أجنــدة الإمــارات2021.ومــن الناحيــة العمليــة، فــإَّن هــذه الخطــوة تبــرز أهميــة تحفيــز الابتــكار والبحـث، ودعـم القطاعـات ذات القيمـة المضافـة العاليـة، وتعزيـز إطــار العمــل التنظيمــي للقطاعــات الرئيســية. تتــولى وزارة المــوارد البشـرية والتوطيـن مسـؤولية تحويـل سـوق العمـل بدولـة الإمارات العربيــة المتحــدة إلى ســوق جاذبــة للمواهــب الإماراتيــة. وحتــى تتمكــن الــوزارة مــن بلــوغ هــذا الهــدف، فقــد ركــزت جهودهــا علــى وضـع نظـام للسياسـات والمعاييـر، عـلاوة علـى التركيـز علـى إقامـة شــراكات مؤسسية لتمكيــن القــوى العاملــة الإماراتيــة وحمايــة بيئة العمــل مــع تعزيــز الابتــكار فيهــا.

السياسات والمبادرات

  • سياســة إعــادة توزيــع المواطنيــن (2018): وهــي آليــة معتمــدة للتدويــر الوظيفــي بيــن القطاعيــن العــام والخــاص تهــدف إلى تعييــن موظفيــن ذوي خبــرة وكفــاءة مــن القطــاع العــام لتــولي المناصــب القياديــة في مؤسســات القطــاع الخــاص.
  • البوابـة الإلكترونيـة الموحـدة للتوظيـف الـذاتي لأصحـاب المهـارات (2018): وتهــدف هــذه البوابــة إلى دعــم جهــود التوطيــن مــن خـلال ربـط المهـارات الوطنيـة بالبرامـج والخدمـات المختلفـة في القطاعيـن الحكومـي والخـاص. وتوفـر البوابـة الالكترونيـة حزمـة مــن التســهيلات والمحفــزات للشــركات التــي تســتخدمها في الاســتعانة بالكفــاءات الوطنيــة.
  • إطــلاق سلســلة مــن التطبيقــات الذكيــة خــلال عامــي 2017 و2018 لرفــع الكفــاءة وتعزيــز ســهولة تقديــم الخدمــات. ومــن هذه التطبيقات، على سـبيل المثال لا الحصر، تطبيق “وجهنيالذكـي وهـو تطبيـق يهـدف إلى تقديـم الإرشـاد المهنـي للخر يجين الجـدد في الدولـة لتحديـد فـرص العمـل والتدريـب. وتطبيـق آخـر هــو “ســلامة” ويســتهدف أصحــاب العمــل والعمــال والأطبــاء، ويهــدف إلى أن يكــون منصــة للإبــلاغ الفــوري عــن أي إصابــات عمــل.

    التحديات

  • رفــع مســتوى التوطيــن في وظائــف القطــاع الخــاص، حيــث يفضلــن غالبيــة الإماراتيــات العمــل في القطــاع الحكومــي.
  • احتماليــة فقــدان عــدد مــن الوظائــف الإداريــة بســبب المخاطــر التــي يفرضهــا التحــول الآلي لهــذه الوظائــف. وبنــاًء عليــه، تبــرز أهميــة تزويــد مواطنــي الدولــة بالمهــارات المناســبة للنجــاح في القطــاع الخــاص.

تحقيق التقدم

8.2.1

معدل النمو السنوي لنصيب الفرد العامل من الناتج المحلي الاجمالي الحقيقي - 2015

8.2.2

العمالة في الصناعة التحويلية كنسبة من مجموع العمالة (%)