Goal 12: Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns

Overview

By virtue of Vision 2021, the UAE is striving to diversify its income resources to become a successful model of a green economy. In line with the nation’s vision, the UAE Cabinet approved the Green Agenda 2030 as a framework to guide actions that support the transition. The framework is based on 5 strategic objectives and is supported by 12 main programs. In addition, to ensure the achievement of SDG 12, the Ministry of Climate Change & Environment (MOCCAE) is in the process of integrating the concept of Sustainable Consumption and Production (SCP) in a national plan to help streamline the concept in sectoral plans and strategies, sustainable business practices and consumer behaviour.

 

 

Policies and Initiatives

  • The UAE Green Business Toolkit (2018) is a guideline published on the occasion of the World Environment Day to help Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) in greening their value chains
  • The National Waste Database System (2018) supports the collection of waste related data from all relevant authorities within the UAE to manage the data analysis and reporting at local and national levels
  • His Highness Sheikh Mohammad bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, announced in 2017 the aim to become a zero food waste nation.

 

 

Challenges

  • More engagement is required from business in general to support the implementation of SCP, as strong business actions is required for its success.
  • Collecting waste data from all relevant authorities across the UAE to manage reporting at local and national levels proved to be a challenge that is being addressed through a national Waste Database System recently launched in 2018.

Achievement Progress

الهدف 12: يعني هذا الهدف ضمان وجود أنماط استهلاك وإنتاج مستدامة.

لمحة عامة

اسـتناداً إلى مضمـون رؤيـة الإمـارات 2021، تسـعى دولـة الإمـارات العربيـة المتحـدة إلى تنويـع مصـادر دخلهـا لتصبـح نموذجـاً ناجحـاً للاقتصـاد الأخضـر. وتماشـيا مـع رؤيـة الدولـة، فقـد اعتمـد مجلـس الــوزراء أجنــدة الإمــارات الخضــراء  2030  كإطــار عمــل لتوجيــه الإجــراءات دعمــاً لعمليــة التحــول إلى الاقتصــاد الأخضــر. ويســتند هذا الإطار على   5  أهداف استراتيجية ويدعمه 12 برنامجاً رئيسياً. ولضمـان تحقيـق الهـدف 12، تعمـل وزارة التغيـر المناخـي والبيئـة علــى نشــر مفهــوم الاســتهلاك والإنتــاج المســتدامين مــن خــلال خطــة وطنيــة للمســاعدة في دمــج هــذا المفهــوم ضمــن الخطــط والاســتراتيجيات القطاعيــة والممارســات التجاريــة المســتدامة وســلوك المســتهلك

السياسات والمبادرات

  • دليــل أدوات الأعمــال الخضــراء” في دولــة الإمــارات العربيــة المتحــدة (2018) هــو دليــل إرشــادي تــ َّم إصــداره بمناســبة يــوم البيئــة العالمــي لمســاعدة الشــركات الصغيــرة والمتوســطة في جعــل سلاســل القيمــة الخاصــة بهــا صديقــة للبيئــة وخضــراء.
  • تدعــم قاعــدة البيانــات الإلكترونيــة الوطنيــة للنفايــات (2018) عمليــة جمــع البيانــات المتعلقــة بالنفايــات مــن جميــع الهيئــات ذات العلاقــة في دولــة الإمــارات العربيــة المتحــدة لإدارة تحليــل البيانــات وإعــداد التقاريــر علــى المســتويين المحلــي والوطنــي.
  • أعلـن صاحـب السـمو الشـيخ محمـد بـن راشـد آل مكتـوم، نائـب رئيــس الدولــة ورئيــس مجلــس الــوزراء، حاكــم دبي “حفظــه الله، في عـام 2017 عـن الهـدف هـو القضـاء علـى ظاهـرة إهـدار الطعـام تمامـاًوالتشـجيع علـى الاسـتهلاك المسـتدام.

    التحديات

  • هناك حاجة لمزيد من المشاركة من الشركات التجارية بشكل عــام لدعــم تنفيــذ مفهــوم الاســتهلاك والإنتــاج المســتدامين، ويتطلــب ذلــك تبنــي هــذه الشــركات إجــراءات جديّــة.
  • تعــد عمليــة جمع بيانات النفايات من جميع الهيئــات ذات العلاقة ومن جميع أنحاء الدولة لإدارة التقارير الخاصة بها على المستويين ا محلي والوطني تحديــاًكبيــراً، وتــَّم معالجة هــذا التحـدي مـن خـلال إطـلاق نظـام لقاعـدة بيانـات وطنيـة للنفايـات في عــام 2018.

 

تحقيق التقدم