Goal 11: Make cities inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable

Overview

 

The Ministry of Infrastructure Development (MOID) has contributed to the urban development of the

UAE through federal infrastructure projects such as government houses, buildings, in addition to developing a strong road network linking all seven emirates to facilitate the commute of UAE citizens and residents. In line with Vision 2021 and the National Agenda, MOID strives to achieve an excellent sustainable environment and integrated infrastructure to achieve a high quality of life to all residents.

 

Policies and Initiatives

  • Launch of the ‘Establishment of PPP National Legal Framework Policy’ (2018) to develop a public private partnership policy to finance and implement infrastructure projects in order to enhance the competitiveness of the UAE, meet the needs and future aspirations of infrastructure and housing, and to stimulate the economy and the private sector
  • Launch of the UAE’s project of the Consensual Holistic Plan (2017) to develop a long-term integrated plan and roadmap for the UAE which incorporates environmental, urban, economic and social pillars
  • Launch of the ‘National Housing Strategy Initiative’ in 2017. The project aims to develop a regulatory framework for the housing process and develop a long-term plan to ensure the provision of adequate housing in a fair and transparent manner.

 

Challenges

 

  • The UAE is among the countries with an increasing rate of car-owners that stands to rise by 3.9% (average increase over 10 years), almost twice as high as the world average. This high rate makes it increasingly imperative to develop an integrated future vision for road system and smart transportation
  • Provision of financing needed to support the ambitious visions of developing the urban infrastructure of the UAE
  • Due to the federal nature of the UAE, diverse standards, laws and policies need to be taken into consideration when planning in different emirates.

Achievement Progress

الهدف 11: يعني هذ الهدف جعل المدن والمستوطنات البشرية شاملة للجميع، وآمنة، وقادرة على الصمود، ومستدامة.

لمحة عامة

سـاهمت وزارة تطويـر البنيـة التحتيـة في تحقيـق التنميـة العمرانيـة للدولـة، مـن خـلال مشـاريع البنيـة التحتيـة الاتحاديـة التـي أشـرفت علــى تنفيذهــا. وشــملت هــذه المشــاريع بنــاء المنــازل والمبــاني الحكوميــة، بالإضافــة إلى تطويــر شــبكة طــرق قويــة تربــط جميــع الإمـارات السـبع لتسـهيل تنقـل المواطنيـن والمقيميـن في الدولـة. واتســاقاً مــع رؤيــة 2021 والأجنــدة الوطنيــة، تســعى الــوزارة إلى تحقيــق بيئــة مســتدامة وبنيــة تحتيــة متكاملــة مــن أجــل تحقيــق جــودة حيــاة عاليــة لجميــع المقيميــن.

السياسات والمبادرات

  • وضـع سياسـة الإطـار القانـوني الوطنـي للشـرا كة بيـن القطاعيـن العــام والخــاص (2018) لتطويــر سياســة الشــراكة بيــن القطاعيـن، والتـي ستسـاعد في تمويـل مشـاريع البنيـة التحتيـة وتنفيذهــا بهــدف تعزيــز القــدرة التنافســية للدولــة وتلبيــة متطلبــات البنيــة التحتيــة واحتياجــات مشــاريع الإســكان.
  • مشــروع الإمــارات للخطــة الشــاملة التوافقيــة (2017): ويهــدف هــذا المشــروع إلى وضــع خطــة متكاملــة طويلــة الأمــد لوضــع سياســات وخارطــة طريــق للدولــة تضــم في بنودهــا محــاور بيئيــة وحضريــة واقتصاديــة واجتماعيــة.
  • المبــادرة الوطنيــة للإســكان (2017): تهــدف المبــادرة إلى وضــع إطـار عمـل تنظيمـي لعمليـة الإسـكان، بالإضافـة إلى إعـداد خطـة طويلـة الأمـد لضمـان توفيـر السـكن الملائـم وعلـى نحـو عـادل.

    التحديات

  • تعـّد دولـة الإمـارات العربيـة المتحـدة مـن بيـن الـدول التـي تشـهد أعلــى نســبة متزايــدة في ملكيــة الســيارات. ومــن المتوقــع أن ترتفــع هــذه النســبة إلى %3.9 خــلال الســنوات العشــر القادمــة، أي مــا يعــادل ضعــف المعــدل العالمــي. وتتطلــب هــذه النســبة المرتفعـة ضـرورة وضـع رؤيـة مسـتقبلية متكاملـة لنظـام الطـرق والنقــل الذكــي.
  • توفيــر التمويــل الــلازم لدعــم الــرؤى الطموحــة لتطويــر البنيــة التحتيــة الحضريــة بدولــة الإمــارات العربيــة المتحــدة.
  • ونظــراًإلى الطابــع الاتحــادي لدولــة الإمــارات العربيــة المتحــدة، يجــب أخــذ المعاييــر والقوانيــن المختلفــة بعيــن الاعتبــار عنــد التخطيــط في مختلــف إمــارات الدولــة.

تحقيق التقدم